Home

I’m not a big breakfast person, I’m a big brunch person. You may think that statement makes no sense, or is THE most middle-class expat-brat thing you have ever heard, but it’s true. I am not a big fan of waking up first thing in the morning and making breakfast or forcing it down my throat because it’s supposed to be the most important meal of the day. Why is it the most important meal? Because it’s supposed to get your metabolism working.

Well, you know what, a pint of cold water first thing in the morning also kickstarts your metabolism #science. And if you’re like me, and you snore, your mouth is probably dry when you wake up, so you’re parched. Parched me would much rather have the glass of water!

The only reason that I am not a fan of cooked breakfast in the morning is because I was brought up being told that it was unhealthy for you everyday, and that it was only ok once in a while. So, I preferred shakes – a bit of protein powder, bit of peanut butter, some fruit, maybe some oats and some soya milk. Then I started doing the whole30 and I couldn’t really have any of that stuff because it wasn’t whole30 compliant, and for good reason. I tried doing coconut milk shakes, and they should fill me up, but a lot of days I felt like I was again, forcing that down me.

Cooked food first thing in the morning just makes me gag. So I like to take my time making it. Here is one of those weird mornings where I looked in the fridge and I was like, well… what do I have? Two eggs, a sweet potato and some mince meat…. it’s going to have to be hash! I’m not quite sure what hash is, its this word that I found being thrown around paleo pinterests and it always seemed to have sweet potato in it – to me, its a stir fry, but we can’t stay stir fry for breakfast, so its hash.

Ingredients:

– 1/2 large sweet potato (or 1 medium)
– 200g minced beef/turkey
– 1/2 White Onion (diced)
– 2 eggs
– Salt, Pepper, Paprika to taste

Method:

1. Peel sweet potato, and chop into cubes.
2. Pop sweet potato cubes into food processor. Blitz.
3. Add 1 tbsp of your preferred fat to a skillet on high heat (I like to use coconut oil) and add minced meat
4. When minced meat is brown, add diced onions and shredded sweet potato
5. Keep cooking that until the onions are soft
6. Season with salt/pepper/paprika
7. Transfer hash onto a serving plate, and crack two eggs into the same skillet. Fry them sunny side up or over easy – you choose!
8. When the eggs are done to your liking, lie them on top of your hash. All done!

**I like to add a half avocado to the side of EVERY dish. So do this too if you like 🙂

Leave a Reply

