Home

I’m not going to lie, my diet hasn’t been that clean lately, I may have had a couple of weekend trips up North, and I may have eaten everyone under-the-table. This includes – chip-shop chips (the best kind), cake, bread, and some more cake! But you know, what? I treated myself, and there is nothing wrong with that, as long as I don’t fall back into the old habits of having crap for every single meal. No one likes a fussy eater, and I hate it when the words “I can’t have that” come out of my mouth. Having said that, the Whole30 and Jason Vale, taught me one very important thing, IT’S OK TO SAY “NO”. I’m a massive people-pleaser and hate having to tell people ‘no’. I hate it more when the person I’m saying ‘no’ to, is extremely persistent, and won’t accept it.

So, asides from giving 100% when I WOD, I’m going to start practicing ‘no‘ with others, and myself. No one else is going to be affected by my poor diet, except me!

wpid-20141023_092601

So! Meatballs! I made my pesto the other day, and had some minced beef in the fridge – so, what does my mind jump to? MEATBALLS. I was originally going to just do a meatballs then eat them with the pesto as a sauce, but after a quick google search, I found out that I could make paleo pesto meatballs. When I’ve made burgers and meatballs in the past, I’ve never really used a binding agent – in ‘regular’ cooking, it’s usually breadcrumbs – for my meatballs I just used eggs, no breadcrumbs, or almond flour, or anything like that.

image

image

I decided to stick them in the oven, as opposed to pan-fry them, for two reasons: (1) I’m lazy, and (2) I once had a very traumatising oil/frying pan incident and my face. So, I thought oven-cooking would be quicker and safer. If you want to pan-fry, go for it #yolo.

image

Right, so I was super optimistic when I had my meatballs all lined up on my baking trays, and warningthe below image is not pretty, but when I took them out of the oven, they were swimming in oil! The oil, which was obviously from the pesto, but me, being a mong, had also coated them lightly in olive oil before I put them in the oven. Well, the good new is, all the oily-secretions weren’t inside the meatballs anymore, and they tasted amazeballs.

image

It was fine – they tasted fine – don’t worry – they don’t look great above, but from the pic below, you can see they turned out just fine! Feedback was that they tasted great too!

image

Ingredients

– 1 kilo of minced beef
– 250g paleo pesto
– 3 eggs

Method
1. Preheat over to 180C
2. Line baking tray with foil or baking paper
3. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, kneading together until mixed
4. Form balls with mince meat by rolling around in palms
5. DO NOT COAT IN ANY EXTRA OIL (rookie error)
6. Line along baking tray leaving a few cm space in between each ball
7. Place in the oven for about 25-30 minutes (or until cooked all the way through)

I used these meatballs in a couple of different ways – ate them straight out of the over with a side salad, and that afternoon made a quick coconut curry sauce, and served them with some sweet potato wedges. I stored about half of them in the fridge (you can also freeze them if you like!), and wrapped a few up in bacon, shoved them in the oven at 180C for about 15 minutes, and served them with some sweet potato mash. The possibilities are endless! Who would have known?

2 thoughts on “Paleo Pesto Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Meatballs Wrapped in Bacon | Zig Cooks, Zig Lifts

  2. Pingback: Meatballs in curry sauce | Zig Cooks, Zig Lifts

Leave a Reply

