Home

image

imageRemember those Paleo Pesto Meatballs I made a while ago. I made so many, and managed to make a couple of great dishes with them.

Most of the time, I just see what I have in my cupboards and try to make-do with what I already have in my kitchen, rather than going out and buying new ingredients all the time. One day, I had some tomatoes that needed to be used. I thought maybe classic meatballs in a tomato sauce, but I didn’t have all the herbs & spices that I wanted for that. So, I settled on some curry powder that I had in my spice rack. I blitzed the tomatoes in my food processor and voila – instant chopped tomatoes – no need to go out a buy a jar of them! One thing that I learned from the Whole30 about buying tinned/canned food, was that companies will add loads of ingredients and preservatives like sugar, which I want to stay away from. Sugar is in everything! I’m lucky enough to live next to a great independent Organics Shop in Manchester called McCalls, who sell tomato puree, chopped tomatoes etc that simply just tomatoes and basil, no added crap! Lucky me! Buying organic can be more expensive, or you can do what I did, and just make the sauce yourself!

 

Ingredients
– 2 tbsp curry powder
– 1 tsp ground cumin
-1 tsp ground coriander
– 2 tsp cayenne pepper
– 1x 400ml can of organic coconut milk
– 1x 400ml can of chopped tomatoes (or food process 4 large tomatoes)
– 2 cloves of garlic (crushed)
– Tomato puree
– 1 tbsp coconut oil

Method
1. If food processing tomatoes yourself, go ahead and blitz them in your food processor (add an onion in too if you like). Or hand-chop them yourself if you don’t have a food processor.
2. Heat coconut oil in a saucepan.
3. Add crushed garlic to saucepan, and stir until fragrant.
4. Add curry powder and tomato puree to the saucepan and stir until garlic coated, making sure nothing sticks to the bottom of the pan.
5. Add chopped tomatoes and coconut milk.
6. Add Paleo Pesto Meatballs
7. Add cayenne pepper, coriander, cumin, and further tomato puree if you want a thicker sauce.
8. Leave to simmer on a low heat, stirring occasionally, for about 10-15 minutes, or until desired sauce consistency is achieved.

image

I had quite a lot of sauce left over, so any excess, I kept in a mason jar in my fridge, and I poured it over some chicken thighs/drumsticks, and plopped them in the slowcooker one day. I served these meatballs will some oven-roasted sweet potato fries, and 1/2 an avocado. There isn’t much green in with this dish, so add some steamed green veg to yours!

Let me know if you try any of these recipes. Instagram the photos @zigcooks_ziglifts with the hashtag #zigcooks. Or tweet me @ZigCooksLifts with the hashtag #zigcooks

Leave a Reply

