Home

IMG_2630The other night, I tagged along to a book event that a friend of mine was going to, and was introduced to the world of Deliciously Ella. She’s a super famous veggie blogger, who got really ill from living off haribo and meat, and then one day decided she was going to cut out crap from her diet. Here were the two main things that I took away from that talk

1. Listen To Your Body
I constantly find myself forcing down the last six mouthfuls of food because its there in front of me, and the way I was brought up, was that you finish what was in front you. But you know what? I don’t have to do that. I’m not insulting anyone’s cooking because I’m full! Why am I dishing out tons of food for myself or cooking insane portions? I do this because I always cook when I’m really hungry, my eyes are too big for my stomach, I end up forcing all this food down, and then I feel really bloated, guilty and unattractive afterwards.

Solution? Portion control. I know its only because I’ve drank the CrossFit Kool-Aid and completed by Level 1 that I’m even mentioning Zone, but portion control just makes sense (duh). Eat less, gain less. I always try to match what my boyfriend eats – he has at least 30kg on me! Listen to my body – am I full? Do I really want this?

2. Different Things Work For Different People (There is no right way!)
I like paleo because I feel good when I eat paleo. I never really feel great when I eat lots of processed carbs (mainly rice and pasta, in my case). However, I love cheese. I cut out dairy because there is a growing stigma towards milk, and after a little bit of a research, milk isn’t that great for you. Its overly processed nowadays and there’s quite a bit of added sugar in there. We’re also the only species that drinks the milk of other animals. Cow’s milk is made for baby cows. Then there is this worry of, where do I get my calcium from? Well, where have lactose-intolerant people gotten their calcium from all this time? Have a little read of this.

I like legumes. I used to love cooking with chickpeas, lentils, beans, peanut butter!! So, I’ve decided to introduce them back into my diet! Starting off with a really simple hummus!

HIMG_2632ummus is NOT paleo because it is made out of chickpeas, which are a legume #totesnotpaleo. I made my hummus from dried chickpeas, which I let soak overnight, but you can boil your dried chickpeas (which might be better because then will be softer and more malleable in the food processor), or just use canned chickpease (just make sure they aren’t swimming in preservatives)

I used dried chickpeas just because I had loads left over when I decided to become a vegan for charity, this one time. When you soak them, make sure there is enough space in the bowl for them to “grow”. They can almost double in size. If you’re going to soak them for longer than 24 hours, just make sure that you change the water or top it up every 12 hours. Old, manky water can sometimes be a breeding ground for bacteria. IMG_2633

You also want to make sure that you put enough water in. Personally, I don’t use measurements, I just make sure there is about an two inches or so of water above the chickpeas, and then another two or three inches about that for the chickpeas to grow.IMG_2634

IMG_2642 Simple Hummus Recipe

Equipment needed: food processor

Ingredients:
– 1 cup of olive oil
– 2 cups soaked chickpeas (soak overnight or just use canned)
– 1 tsp tahini (crushed sesame paste)
– 1 cup water
– salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients:
1. Chuck everything in the food processor and blitz. (Depending on how crunchy/creamy you would like your hummus, you can add more or less water)
2. Add a little paprika and olive oil when you serve. Enjoy with chopped vegetables or pita bread as a snack!

IMG_2643Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

