Home

Right! So I tried to zone this, and my protein and carb components were so non-existent in the grand scheme of things, that I am just considering this wheat/gluten-free banana breIMG_2695ad equivalent to 3 Fat Blocks. The main ingredients were coconut flour and almond flour (blanched/ground almonds).

I wanted to make this bread because I had some really brown bananas hanging out in my kitchen, and I wanted to try something other than Paleo Banana Ice Cream (recipe will be posted soon). I’m also REALLY BAD at baking, so I want to get better.

I feel like brown bananas work so much better because they are so soft and sweet, easier to mash, and just taste better in general! They’re like this awesome little gift, they’re all bruised and spotty on the outside, but so yummy and delightful on the inside. #neverjudgeabookbyitscover

All I did was use equal parts coconut and almond flour (1/2 cup). I figured, based on the information on the packaging, that 1/2 cup of almond flour was 15 fat blocks (yup! 15 blocks!), my coconut flour was 6 fat blocks and 2 carb blocks.

IMG_2696

My bananas were 9 carb blocks (1/3 banana = 1 block), and the 4 eggs I used were 4 protein blocks. I also added in about half a cup of coconut oil, which is probably another 100 fat blocks, but you get my point and my carb and protein blocks being ridiculously insignificant in comparison to how much fat I accumulated.

IMG_2697

The recipe is super simple. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl (coconut flour, almond flour, baking soda, and salt), combine wet ingredients in another bowl (eggs, vanilla essence, coconut oil, and honey (optional)). Mash the bananas, mix into wet mixture. Add wet mixture to dry mixture. Bake!

IMG_2698 IMG_2699

The smell that was released into my studio flat were unbelievable. It was coconut goodness, honestly! When I took the banana bread out of the oven, I wanted to eat it straight away, but contained myself for 20 minutes while it cooled down.

IMG_2700

The results were pretty awesome, if I do say so myself. The texture was that of regular banana bread. HOWEVER, I didn’t add in any honey because I was like “that’s not really paleo” and “bananas will be sweet enough”. I would say, either up the amount of bananas you use, or add in a little bit of honey or agave nectar or something along those lines, because it could have done with a little extra sweetness. I’m used to regular banana bread that is a lot sweeter.

IMG_2702

I had two thin slices, which is about 6 fat blocks (equivalent to my fat blocks for two meals). I stored the rest in the fridge, and in all honesty, this tastes a lot better when its fresh/warm. So, if you do store it, it may be worth putting in the microwave for a couple of seconds, otherwise its a bit cardboardy (could also just be my baking skills, or lack thereof).

I know that coconut flour and almond flour can be pretty expensive, and in all honesty, I didn’t go out and buy these ingredients especially for this. I had them in my cupboard and decided I needed to use them successfully, because my past baking attempts have been pretty shit.

IMG_2701

Ingredients
– 2-3 brown, spotty bananas

Dry:
– 1/2 cup coconut flour
– 1/2 cup almond flour (blanched/ground almonds)
– 1 tsp baking soda (baking powder/bicarbonate of soda)
–  sprinkling of cinammon (~1 tsp, up to you)
–  sprinkling of salt (go pink himalayan salt if you’re #trendy #basicbitch – I know I did)

Wet:
–  4 eggs
– 2 tsp vanilla essence (more if you like)
– 1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)
– 1/2 cup honey/syrup (optional, just make sure there is no added sugar if you’re trying to be a good caveman/woman)

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180C. Mash bananas. Put aside.
2. Mix coconut flour, almond flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a medium-sized bowl with a fork to get rid of lumps and bumps.
3. In another bowl, combine/whisk your wet ingredients: the eggs, vanilla essence, coconut oil and honey (if using).
4. Combine mashed bananas with wet mixture.
5. Combine wet and dry ingredients, mixing until well-incorporated. It will become one big ball-like shape (looks a big like dough).
6. Using either a parchment-paper-lined bread tin or baking tin, or an awesome silicone baking tray (like I used #nonstick), flatten mixture into tray.
7. Bake for about 40 minutes. Test by sticking a toothpick/skewer/knife in the centre. If it comes out clean, you’re good to go. If not, place back in the oven for a bit longer.
8. Remove and let it cool on a wire-rack for about 20 minutes.
9. Eat that shit, in moderation!

Leave a Reply

